Creating from Within

mesa-meditation

SO many people meditate, which is fantastically superb. Meditation can help with many things such as anxiety, depression, stress, etc. There are also many who use meditation as a form of prayer, asking Spirit/God/the Divine to send blessings and specific things they are trying to bring into their lives.

I have done this for years. You know how it goes, usually sounding something like, “I ask that you send abundance and health to my life.” Well the past couple of years, while training at the Austin Shamanic Center, I gained a great tool that has amplified my vibrations and taken me out of a place of ‘begging’ if you will. Honestly, that’s what it would feel like to me!

I’ll start with a story from my teacher (I will try to remember it as close as possible, but the main message is definitely in there). There was a great drought in Peru. The people were suffering, the crops were dying, and something had to be done. A shaman sat in a hut for 3 days, when finally it started raining.When the Shaman came out, the people asked if it was from praying for rain, and Shaman responded, “No, I did not pray FOR rain. I PRAYED RAIN.”

I’ll be quite frank. It took me a while to wrap my brain around this one. What does it mean to pray rain? I will now offer any words to make this make sense, but will tell you that like me, it will take practice to get this one.

Essentially what the Shaman was doing was raising his vibrations to the frequency of having rain rather than simply asking Spirit, “Hey, can you please bring rain?” By adjusting his/her frequency (or vibes) they were able to receive more easily. There is a similar story I was once told where instead praying for rain, the Hopi sit and visualize themselves covered in mud (because you can’t have mud without rain).

This is the premise I’ve been working with in my own personal meditation, and I am astonished at the progress I’ve made on my own personal journey as well as a more communal one.

Those who know me well know I swear by starting my day with at least sitting down with my mesa for 15 minutes, usually more, to ground down and feel that connection to Source. It gives me a great base to start my day with, putting me in a place of centeredness as well as gratitude. Best of all, it reminds me of my connection and allows me to tap into that throughout the day. During my mediation, my goal is to go through and focus on what I’m trying to bring into my life and not simply ask for it, but feel it, emanate it, be thankful before I even get it. For example I pray success, I pray abundance, I pray stability. I visualize myself busy with clients and not worrying about bills. You will feel the difference, you will see the shift.

No matter what, I have been ending all of my meditations with gratitude. Not only for things I’ve received and the people who support me, but also for all those who didn’t, yet led/pushed me to the beautiful place I am. This alone has aided in healing deep wounds left from those who previously hurt me greatly.

I will leave you with this: Spirit does not honor what is not in ayni, or right relationship. This is all work toward a goal. We don’t always get what we want because we don’t know the bigger picture. Be patient with your practice. Get to know yourself and your relationship with Spirit while doing this-you may even see your wants/needs shift! There is no magical way to manifest a million dollars over night. But if you start practicing in this way, you will see Spirit support you in ways you couldn’t imagine, and sometimes in ways you weren’t expecting.

Feel free to share your own stories if you try this-I would love to hear about it! Also, I would be happy to elaborate if any of this isn’t clear. Just drop a line in the comments!

Much Munay,

Beth

Leave a Reply

